2013…The Year of the “More”

 

I have never really been much for resolutions.  I have tried, and failed.  Tried…and failed. Year after year it seems to be the same routine.  Yet, I can’t escape the urge to set some goals for the new year.  So, I am not resolving or committing for 2013.  I am just simply desiring more.

In 2013:

  • I desire more of God’s Word. Not just read the Bible all the way through once, but several times.
  • I desire to read more There is so many great, God inspired books out there.  I want to read  more of them than I did last year.
  • I desire to write more I am really beginning to enjoy my blog and the art of writing.  I still need lots of practice.
  • I desire to give away more money.  Finances have always been a struggle for our family.  The money has been there, we just have not always made wise decisions with it.  This year we will control our spending so we can give more money away in the future.
  • I desire more holes in my belt.  I like having to add notches in my belt to make it fit tighter.  They call that a “Non Scale Victory”.  More empty space on my plate will help with that.
  • I desire to learn more. College studies will certainly contribute, but I want to learn more about the world around me and the people I share it with.
  • I desire to serve more There will be many needs this year.  I want to help more than I ever have.
  • I desire to share more Time is short and there are still people who need to know Christ as their Savior.  No time for slacking.
  • I desire to parent more.  The kids are growing up.  I must be more involved.
  • I desire to love more My God, my wife, my children, my family, my friends, my church, my community, my world – all would benefit from me loving more this year than last.

I am very supportive of definitive, specific goals and these listed desires are certainly not void of such ends.  However, if one year from now I look back and I have done little more than I did last year, I can be content and grateful to a great year and a great God.

My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God. Psalm 84:2

About jdarrington

I am a lover of God and a follower of His Son, Jesus Christ. I serve Him as the Associate Pastor to Children and Their Families at First Baptist Church of Borger, TX. For over 16 years I have pursued God’s call upon my life to minister to families in various forms and capacities. I serve alongside my wife, Ronnie, and my four beautiful and amazing children. Together we seek to bring children and their families to a growing relationship with Jesus Christ.

Posted on January 3, 2013, in Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

