One Week Out – Distractions

 

Our team is exactly one week away from converging on Chicago where we will be together for the first time before heading over Africa.  The next several days will be hectic as my pastor and I work to collect all the remaining supplies we need for the project, and finish any personal preparations.  Of course, there is also much to do to make sure our responsibilities are covered before we leave.  In addition to all that, life goes on.  Our families still have needs, bills still need paid, and life in general tends to tug and pull in a million different directions.

This has been the experience today, for sure.  Currently, we have two major appliances not functioning in our home, the clothes washer one of them.  This morning, we woke up to the smell of a burned out blower fan on our central air unit.  It seems that as soon as I began to gear up and focus on the project, the more distractions that were placed in my path.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  Every hurdle has been worthy of addressing, but distractions none the less.

After I arrived at the church this morning, I took a little time in the Word.  My daily reading brought me to 1 Corinthians 10, where Paul used the analogy of a runner to express the need to run and train with purpose and focus.  God began to speak to me, encouraging me to consider the distractions as hurdles in the race.  Addressing the hurdles while still keeping focus on winning was all part of it.  Trying to go around the hurdles or ignoring them would only lead to problems.

Yes, there is still much to do before we are ready to travel.  And yes, I anticipate more distractions to come.  It is my prayer that I will stay the course in regards to our project and in my own personal walk with Christ, handling each hurdle well.

About jdarrington

I am a lover of God and a follower of His Son, Jesus Christ. I serve Him as the Associate Pastor to Children and Their Families at First Baptist Church of Borger, TX. For over 16 years I have pursued God’s call upon my life to minister to families in various forms and capacities. I serve alongside my wife, Ronnie, and my four beautiful and amazing children. Together we seek to bring children and their families to a growing relationship with Jesus Christ.

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

