VBS is Here!

Tis the season for Vacation Bible School.  That’s right, yesterday, all over the country churches began what many consider the greatest child outreach event for the summer, if not the whole year.  Our church joined right along with them.

So, in effort be prepared, I turned to Jon Acuff, a like minded minister and blogger. Here is some VBS advice he has to share:

How to get ready for Vacation Bible School:

1. Buy 4 pieces of glitter.

Why 4? Because that’s all you need. Glitter multiplies like rabbits. Those four pieces will be 40,000 by the time VBS starts. Trust me on this one. Please.

2. Comb out your flannel graphs.

Lot of people don’t know how to properly care for flannel graphs. You have to regularly comb out the tangles, preferably with one of those black combs they gave you on school photo day.

3. Apologize to the janitor.

Go ahead and get a preemptive apology in. VBS is going to be incredibly Godly, but the mess the janitor will have to clean up is going to without a doubt be ungodly and will probably involve glitter, glue and markers you could have sworn were washable.

4. Tell your pastor to get his A-game ready.

There are five Super Bowl moments for pastors each year. Easter, the Sunday after Easter, Christmas, the Sunday after Christmas and the closing night of Vacation Bible School. The chance to talk with parents of the kids who have been coming to VBS all week is big time. He better bring a big time message.

5. Place your order for off brand cookies.

Forget Oreos. It’s time to get Hydrox on the phone! Get a pallet of “Chomps Ahoy” and then some white treats that are just called “Cookies.” No brand, no adjectives wasted on the package, just “Cookies.” Nothing says VBS like bootleg cookies.

6. Get your volunteers ready.

VBS doesn’t run without volunteers. You’ve got to have the elderly volunteer who inevitably gets tasked with watching “the fastest kid” in the in the entire VBS. You’ll need the grumpy teenager whose parents made them do it. (That was me!) And a Swiss army knife volunteer that is capable of accomplishing 92 VBS related activities in the time it takes one other volunteer to cut out an ark.

7. Rent a bouncy thing.

I never know what to call these. Do you say, “Rent a jump jump?” Or is it, “Rent some inflatables?” It’s impossible to talk about these without looking ridiculous. But regardless of their name issues, you’ve got to have one for your Vacation Bible School. I’m not saying the theme of your VBS this year should be “Jump Around” with a theme song penned by a couple of rapscallion youths wearing backward clothes, but 82% of all VBS visitors make their attendance decision based on how many bouncy things they see at your church as they drive by. I think I heard that from Church Expert Ed Stetzer. Or I made it up.

Joking aside, I am really excited about VBS this year.  For the first time, I get to teach.  I have helped or led in every rotation and have been the administrator several time.  I felt like my VBS experience was incomplete, until now.  So, before I go on, a big thank you goes out to all the VBS teachers that I have taken for granted for so long.  It is hard work and I am learning a ton.

Make sure you connect your kids to a VBS in your area this summer.  For a greater blessing, volunteer for a VBS this summer.

Y-Y-Y-Y-Yes to V-V-V-VBS!

About jdarrington

I am a lover of God and a follower of His Son, Jesus Christ. I serve Him as the Associate Pastor to Children and Their Families at First Baptist Church of Borger, TX. For over 16 years I have pursued God’s call upon my life to minister to families in various forms and capacities. I serve alongside my wife, Ronnie, and my four beautiful and amazing children. Together we seek to bring children and their families to a growing relationship with Jesus Christ.

Posted on June 7, 2011, in Children's Ministry, VBS. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome! Especially the glitter part – we DEFINITELY saw that happen last night!! Hee hee!!!

Leave a Reply

